Kirwa

A tradition that is carefully maintained in Amberg-Sulzbacher is the Kirwa. In the Land of 100 Kirwa Festivals, the people of Amberg-Sulzbacher look forward to "their" hometown festival every year. The tradition of the Oberpfalz Kirwa has survived in a uniquely diverse way in our region.
The “trachten” (traditional clothing) are colourful; the rituals that have been passed down through old traditions are carefully followed. There are even special songs for the Kirwa, the "Schnodahipfln". The cheeky rhyming songs tell of desire and love, work and hardship, and are bursting with the very energy of life.

And no Kirwa can be without the "Baierische" (a traditional dance). Court cases have even been fought over this complicated dance. When, for example, the brass band wasn't able to play the Baierische as "crisply" as it was supposed to be played. The rhythm changes suddenly and quickly in a Baierische. Only experts are able to lead their partners smoothly over the dance floor. The Baierische is not meant for dancing, but for living!
All dates: www.kirwa-gemeinde.de.

Kirwa

Ein Brauch wird im Amberg-Sulzbacher Land besonders gepflegt, die Kirwa. Im Land der 100 Kirwafeste freuen sich die Amberg-Sulzbacher jedes Jahr auf "ihr" Fest im eigenen Ort. Bei uns hat sich die Oberpfälzer Kirwa in einer beispiellosen Vielfalt erhalten.
Farbenfroh sind die Trachten, streng die überlieferten Rituale aus alter Tradition. Für die Kirwa gibt es sogar eigene Lieder, die Schnodahipfln. Die frechen Reimgesänge handeln von Lust und Liebe, Arbeit und Mühsal und strotzen vor Lebenskraft. Auch der Baierische darf auf keiner Kirwa fehlen.

Wegen dieses komplizierten Tanzes haben schon Gerichtsprozesse stattgefunden. Zum Beispiel, weil Blaskapellen nicht imstande waren, einen Baierischen so "abgesetzt" zu intonieren, wie er sich gehört. Beim Baierischen wechselt der Rhythmus oft unvermittelt und nach wenigen Takten. Nur die Spezialisten schaffen es, ihre Tanzpartnerin gleichsam über den Tanzboden schweben zu lassen. Der Baierische ist nicht zu tanzen, er muss gelebt werden. Alle Kirwa-Termine finden Sie unter www.kirwa-gemeinde.de.